Thursday, February 10, 2011

SharePoint 2010 editions

SharePoint 2010 product comes with different editions. Depends on the requirements and usage they have categorized into 3 types.

  1. SharePoint Foundation 2010
  2. SharePoint Server 2010 Standard
  3. SharePoint Server 2010 Enterprise


SharePoint Foundation 2010: It is the platform for collaboration and foundation for building web based applications in SharePoint. This is mainly useful for small organizations who want low-cost secured web based applications. SharePoint Foundation is free of cost. If you have Windows Server 2008 licensed version, then you can download Foundation 2010 and install it.

SharePoint Server 2010 Standard: Contains core capabilities of SharePoint 2010 except insights. Includes Sites, Communities, Content, Search[No FAST search], Composites [except the Access services and Infopath  services].

SharePoint Server 2010 Enterprise: Contains all or full capabilities of SharePoint 2010.

For complete product or edition comparison please take a look at here. Hope you got idea on editions available in SharePoint 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment